We are about new work.

KPOP 2017 coproduction with Ars Nova and Woodshed Collective

KPOP 2017 coproduction with Ars Nova and Woodshed Collective

Founded in 1989, Ma-Yi Theater Company is a Drama Desk and Obie Award-winning not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization whose primary mission is to develop and produce new and innovative plays by Asian American writers. Since its founding, Ma-Yi has distinguished itself as one of the country’s leading incubators of new work shaping the national discourse about what it means to be Asian American today.

Obie Awards for “The Romance of MAGNO RUBIO by Lonnie Carter

Our History

The Obie Award-winning Ma-Yi Theater Company is a not-for-profit organization founded in 1989 to develop and present new plays and performance works that essay the Filipino-American experience.

In 1998, we expanded our mission to include new works by other, non-Filipino, Asian American playwrights. This widened focus was prodded by the growing need to provide a developmental venue for Pan Asian-American texts.

In May 2003, Ma-Yi Theater Company’s production of “The Romance of Magno Rubio” was honored with Obie Awards for Lonnie Carter (playwright), Loy Arcenas (director), the entire cast including Art Acuña, Ramon de Ocampo, Ron Domingo, Jojo Gonzalez, Orlando Pabotoy, and Ralph Peña (lyricist).

Ma-Yi has produced critically acclaimed productions of new works by Michi Barall, Linda Faigao-Hall, Jessica Hagedorn, Chris Millado, Qui Nguyen, Han Ong, Ralph B. Peña, Sung Rno, Lloyd Suh, and Alice Tuan, among others. Our work is anthologized in “Savage Stage,” a collection of plays developed and produced by Ma-Yi Theater. Ma-Yi Theater Company’s works have won 10 OBIE Awards, a Drama Desk nomination for Best Play, numerous Henry Hewes Design Award nominations, and in May 2010, a special Drama Desk award for “more than two decades of excellence and for nurturing Asian American voices in stylistically varied and engaging theatre.”

FLIPZOIDS by Ralph B. Peña

Our Name

“Ma-Yi” is the term used by ancient Chinese traders to refer to a group of islands that is known today as the Philippines.

A document written sometime around 1318 and titled Wen Shiann Tung Kuo (A General Investigation of the Chinese Cultural Sources) contains a stray reference to the Philippines that dates back to 982 AD. The text reads: “There were traders of the country of MA-YI carrying merchandise to the coast of Canton in the seventh year of Tai-ping-shing-kuo.”

Another pre-Spanish source is the Tao-i-chih-lio (Description of the Barbarians of the Isles) by Wang Ta-yuan, dated 1349 AD, with the following reference to MA-YI: “The people boil seawater to make salt and ferment (molasses) to make liquor. The natural products are kapok, yellow beeswax, tortoise shell, betel nuts, and cloth of various patterns. The Chinese goods used in trading are cauldrons, pieces of iron, red cloth or taffetas of various color stripes, ivory, ‘tint’ (a Chinese silver coin) or the like.”

We chose this name in recognition of the vibrant culture that existed in Ma-Yi, prior to the coming of the colonizers from the West.

Site Photo Credits: Brian Barenio, Web Begole, Ralph B. Peña & Matt Zugale


Staff & Board


Ralph B. Peña
Producing Artistic Director

Mike Lew & Rehana Lew Mirza
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation National Resident Playwrights

Michael Lew &  A. Rey Pamatmat
Co-Directors of the Ma-Yi Writers Lab

Joi Barrios, Ph.D.
Literary Manager

Charlie Read
Communications Manager 


Board of Directors


Willam A. Cook, MD (Chair)
Christopher Chorengel
Corrie Davidson
Jessica Dosch
Janel Grant
Justin Lim
Cao K. O
Jorge Z. Ortoll
Ralph B. Peña

Advisory Board


Loy Arcenas
Lydia Benitez Brown
Daphne Ceniza-Kuok
Curtis S. Chin
Sony Dabao Salvador
Ian Darnton-Hill, MD
Ronald Eames
Ernest Escaler
Mia Katigbak
George Martel
Etan Merrick
Charlotte Newberger
Lily O’ Boyle
Fabian Obispo
Gertrudes Pajaron
Lori Pennay
Arianne Recto
Elizabeth Roxas-Dobrish
Lolita Valderrama Savage
Theresa Maja Schultz
Cristina Sison
Cristina Tabora
Francisca M. Tayag
Richard Upton
Ching Valdes-Aran

Founding Members


Chito Jao Garces – Founding Artistic Director
Margot Abuan
Ankie Frilles
Luz de Leon
Isolda Oca
Ralph B. Peña
Arianne Recto
Cristina Sison
Bernie Villanueva






Sponsored by:



Actors Equity Foundation, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, A.R.T./New York Creative Space Grant, AXA Foundation, Barbara Bell Cumming, Dramatists Guild Fund, Fan Fox & Leslie R. Samuels Foundation, Frederick Loewe Foundation, HSBC Bank USA N.A., Harold & Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, Howard Gilman Foundation, The Jerome Foundation, John Golden Fund, Lucille Lortel Foundation, The New York Community Trust, New York Foundation for the Arts, The Rockefeller Brothers Fund, The Shubert Foundation, Time Warner, The Toulmin Foundation GOVERNMENT SUPPORT National Endowment for the Arts, Department of Cultural Affairs-NYC, New York State Council on the Arts

Ma-Yi Theater Company 520 Eighth Avenue, Suite 309 New York, NY 10018 212.971.4862 info [at] ma-yitheatre.org